365 days to When I Said “I Do”….

“Being deeply loved by someone gives you strength, while loving someone deeply gives you courage.”

Lao Tzu

Love is Magical & so are You.
Today to embark my first wedding anniversary, I am dedicating this post to my Piya( as I address him) my husband Priyank Joshi.

The first time when I wrote the quote “ Love is the feeling for a strong heart.” I was sure that Love is an extremely strong, important & pure feeling. Today as I think of it I realise that yes it is absolutely true, not only because Love is a happy feeling, but also because Love is a choice, a responsibility, above all the only weakness that makes one the strongest of all. I have seen many love stories throughout my life but experiencing my own is a feeling I just cannot put down in words. I feel like boasting about my partner that how perfect he is, how pure his Love is, how proud I am to be his yet I shall not bore you with that.

28th March 2022

Our love I can say has been sown since our first talk on call that lasted for more than an hour. It may not be much of a surprise for those who know me yet for me it is because Priyank isn’t a talkative one but he spoke. He was true, transparent & clear. He spoke & spoke & spoke however for the first time ever it felt music to my ears. The feeling was alien to me yet I was liking it. I was shocked that I was feeling all this for someone who I am talking to the first time.

“A great marriage is not when the ‘perfect couple’ comes together. It is when an imperfect couple learns to enjoy their differences.”

Dave Meurer

After talking on call for approximately 2 months we decided to take the next step. On 5th February 2022 we met the first time spoke face to face & the next day we said yes to each other for each other.

This is our first photograph together. A very special moment for us as well as our families. It was a surreal moment. The beginning of us.

Our wedding date was just a month & few days away. It felt magical. These days were our days of getting to know each other better. These days were our days of acceptance, surrender, happiness along with loads of packing & planning. These days went by in a blink. It felt as though the countdown went down from 42 days to the day of our first dance similar to being on a roller coaster. They were my last few days I got to be with my parents, my sister’s, my godson, my grand mother 24×7. I had to say happy byes & happy hi’s together. The days were filled with many lasts & many firsts for me.

For the first time I was on calls late in the night. I celebrated my first Valentine’s Day. I went on my first movie date. I always knew I am beautiful yet for the first time I felt beautiful. There was a hand in mine for the first time.
For Priyank it was the first time he got to be the talkative one for which he is surprised by himself too. He got his first Valentine’s Day gift. In his life for the first time he felt special enough to take time in dressing up. As we were in different cities he loved travelling the same routes again & again & was always equally excited too.
Throughout the 42 days we got to meet personally just twice yet we always felt together. Even though we were in different places we felt present in the same place always.
It was a time full of mixed emotions yet so blissful.

Both of us were busy in the preparations while getting more & more involved in each other. We both love those days so much.
24th March 2022 onwards my pre wedding rituals had begun. I was getting ready to be with mine leaving all that I called mine for the past years.

On 27th March 2022 we did our first dance together. I was so shy yet happy to see him & be in his arms in front of so many family members. The feeling was so relaxing yet my heart was racing throughout.

“Marriage is a mosaic you build with your spouse. Millions of tiny moments that create your love story.”

Jennifer Smith

On the 28th March 2022 we got married. The emotions were so many that I just cannot pen, neither the number of emotions nor their quantity. We were lost in each other & found by each other. We were present in the place & at the same time were seeing our future as Mr. & Mrs.. The moment was such that I just cannot explain. Trust me it is absolutely worth feeling it.

“A happy marriage is the union of two good forgivers .”

Ruth Bell Graham

Love does not mean that all days are going to be rosy, beautiful & bright. No lover promises it too. There are always also some days like the cloudy day. On those days what you choose is all that matters.

I heard Glennon Doyle say that there are two types of Love- Annual & Perennial. The annual one just happens once while the perennial one comes, goes, comes, grows…..just like those annual plants which never come back once they die in the cold winter however the perennial ones choose to sprout out again once the harsh winter is gone.

This resonated with me. I can vouch that mine is the perennial one because in this one year we have over & over again chose each other. We both always chose love.

We both are quite the opposites if I may say. We definitely took time getting used to each other, well we still are yet we accept it all. He has never once told me to change myself, or made me feel less about something & this goes both ways. We are learning each other & accepting at the same time, as few habits which we both are unable to fathom of each other we speak it out & help each other go through it together. We have always been honest, transparent & clear to each other.

I still say that these 365 days have been nothing but pure magic for me. So much so that some days even today I feel is this happening for real? Am I dreaming?


I know I must have told you a thousand time until today & will continue saying it but today once more I want to thank you Priyank for giving me so many moments in these days that I was purely grateful for. You have helped me be grateful for the bad yesterdays & made me equally excited for the many more years to come……. Thank you for everything. I love you Piya from the deepest nook of my heart & soul.

Thanking you all for reading & being a part of my journey. Please let me know if you would like to read more such posts coming right from my heart.

Sending lots of gracious sassiness your way.
xoxoxoxo



One response to “365 days to When I Said “I Do”….”

  1. […] Reference By: graciouslysassywords.wordpress.com […]

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started